Electromagnetic Spectrum


Visible light is electromagnetic radiation that is visible to the human eye, and is responsible for the sense of sight Visible light has a wavelength in the range of about 380 nanometres to about 740 nm.

Primary properties of visible light are intensity, propagation direction, frequency or wavelength spectrum, polarisation, and speed.

Visible light is emitted and absorbed in tiny “packets” called photons, and exhibits properties of both waves and particles. This property is referred to as the wave–particle duality.

Electromagnetic spectrum

The electromagnetic spectrum is the range of all possible frequencies of electromagnetic radiation.


f= c/λ

f = E / h

E = hc / λ


f = frequency

λ = wavelength

E = photon energy

h = Planck’s constant

c = speed of light

Regions of the spectrum

The types of electromagnetic radiation are broadly classified into the following classes:

1. Gamma radiation

2. X-ray radiation

3. Ultraviolet radiation

4. Visible radiation

5. Infrared radiation

6. Terahertz radiation

7. Microwave radiation

8. Radio wave


3 thoughts on “Electromagnetic Spectrum”

  1. I wanted to thank you for this amazing read!! I definitely
    loving every little bit of it I have you bookmarked
    to take a look at new material you post.


Give A message for us

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s